Wednesday, October 14, 2009

On Stereotypes

Pepsi has been criticized for creating an iPhone app that some people find to be offensive.

I really don't understand why some people are way too uptight about humor. What good does it bring to be banging on about how the app is offensive anyway? Couldn't that time and effort be spent doing more productive things? I know I can spend my time doing more productive things than writing a blog post about it.

Perhaps it's just me, but I think as long as there is no malicious intent (in this case it's clear there isn't). it's all in good fun. They're generally true to a certain extent, anyway.

I am Japanese. That must mean I eat sushi every day. I am male. That must mean all I ever think about is getting some.

While neither of those is true, it doesn't mean I go up in arms defending myself against those claims when they are brought upon me; you have a good laugh and everyone is jolly.

Likewise, if I actually believed all vegetarians are socialists, I wouldn't be talking to them.

In fact you can get a list of stereotypical references to use the next time you're at the pub by typing "why are [group of people, i.e. men, Americans, Asians, etc.]" in the search box on Google. The auto-complete feature will give you a list of what other people commonly type.

They certainly don't have many nice things to say about Americans, Mexicans, Koreans, men, women... All of us, really.

Typing "why am I" will cause you to believe the world is full of people with low self-esteem. Perhaps they need to stop taking things so seriously and learn to have a laugh.

No comments:

Post a Comment