Things the Democractic Party of Japan said during the election campaign this summer, and what has happened since:
-Abolish the temporary tax on gasoline -> Said tax will be replaced by a permanent tax of roughly the same amount.
-We will make highways free of toll -> Postponed. Except in Hokkaido, which is where the prime minister's election base is located.
-We will give money to families with children and provide subsidies for high school education. We will do everything without raising taxes or issuing bonds because sufficient funding (20.5 trillion yen) can be gathered by making the government more efficient. The Liberal Democratic Party will cause problems for future generations because they issued bonds for a MASSIVE 33 trillion yen -> We couldn't find 20.5 trillion yen, so we'll have to issue bonds but we'll try to keep it under 44 trillion yen. We might have to raise the sales tax.
-We will cut carbon dioxide emissions by 25% compared to 1990 levels -> It will cost about 360,000 yen per household = new taxes.
-We will resolve the issue of whether the U.S. base in Futenma, Okinawa, should be moved -> we can't make up our minds so we'll deal with it later -> America is very unhappy.
It seems the only things the current government is capable of doing are "cancel" and "postpone." Is it ethical to claim unfeasible things to win votes in the election? And since when did the Japanese populace become so stupid that it couldn't figure out such barefaced lies wouldn't work out? Why were they so easily swindled by the media?
The government has also brought the Emperor of Japan into politics by circumventing rules to arrange a meeting between the Emperor and the vice president of China. This is unconstitutional, improper, and disrespectful.
Prime Minister Yukio Hatoyama has been accused of evading taxes on more than 2.2 billion yen, but he claims he is not at fault because he was "unaware" of the money because he left that stuff to his secretary. Aside from the concept of how one can be unaware of such a large sum of money (including contributions from his own mother totalling 1.26 billion yen and illegal contributions listed as being from individuals who were later found to be already deceased), he has said in the past that such problems are the responsibilities of the politician, not the secretary. Of course, that was when he was accusing members of another party of similar issues. Now, he is claiming he will pay the taxes and everything will be fine. That's a bit like getting caught shoplifting and saying, "look, I'll give back what I took and let's forget about this."
The Secretary General of the DPJ has also been accused of laundering money received illegally through construction companies that were rewarded with contracts.
Why doesn't everyone just evade taxes until someone finds out, at which point you just apologize and pay what you owe?
Monday, December 21, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment