Tuesday, January 26, 2010

This Is Why Proper Grammar Is Important

A comment on a Yahoo! article:

6. Posted by Bob Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:49 pm EST
your the dumbass, learn how to spell.

Ohhhhh ouch. I mean, even if I ignore the comma that should be a semicolon, that is such a painful FAIL.

Monday, January 25, 2010

Do Your Research First

Someone has written an article about car names to prove that (s)he doesn't know anything about cars at all.

Specifically, the part below:

"Tacking a few numbers onto a car's name not only helps it sound cool, it can tell savvy shoppers exactly what the car is packing. The Infiniti QX56 gets the "56" from its 5.6-liter engine and the Infiniti G37 has a 3.7-liter engine. However, the pattern doesn't always hold. While the BMW 3-Series has 3.0-liter engines across the line, so does the BMW 1-Series. And while we'd love to see what a giant engine could do in the BMW 7-Series, that model only has a 4.4-liter V8, not 7.0 liters."

 The part about BMWs reveals sheer lack of research. BMW has traditionally given model designations by indicating the engine displacement by the second and third digits in the name. Recently, this has broken down a bit as the 328i, 330i, and 335i all have 3-liter engines, as the author states. However, that is not to say anything of the 316i (1.6L), 318i (2.0L), and 320i (2.0L). Same story for every BMW model line, from the 1-Series to the (discontinued) 8-Series.

One must be very careful when speaking of car matters, because the people that are interested will notice errors. And the people that are interested are the only people that will bother listening in the first place. Go to any car show to find someone that thinks he knows what he is talking about, but doesn't.

"Trademarks and focus groups: they don’t provide a whole lot of driving excitement, but they've probably kept lots of horrible car names from ever hitting the road."

They couldn't keep such names as "Kia Cee'd" or, well, anything else in the previous article about the worst car names ever.

Saturday, January 23, 2010

Free Pass

An article about the most common passwords...

People actually use passwords like that? I mean, "12345" was clearly a point of ridicule when it was revealed to be the password to Druidia's atmosphere in Spaceballs (as well as President Skroob's suitcase), and more than twenty years later people haven't progressed. Maybe they all need to be hacked and their identities stolen to learn a lesson.

Sitting at number 7 is "rockyou" which seems a tad odd.

Maybe the rest of us are overreacting when it comes to identity theft. Maybe it's just idiots like these that are seriously at risk.

Friday, January 22, 2010

A Step in the Right Direction

The Wendy's that was playing classy music the other day was playing a different genre of music today.

Last time it was Sunday brunch at a posh hotel terrace. Today, it was '50s diner music.

Which is closer, I suppose.

We Can't Be Friends

Today I saw a car with some words printed on it.

"People like you are the reason people like me need meditation."

Wow there, getting a bit extreme with the hate, eh? Don't be blaming me for your mental instability. Save us all the trouble and go live alone in a cabin in the woods, why don't you.

Besides, I don't need to meditate to not go ballistic against the people with whom I do not get along. Apparently I am a much more accomplished human.

"Save the planet
Kill yourself"

Okay, now that's getting a bit violent. I think Johnny needs to go meditate. Actually, why are you even here? Why haven't you uh, gone and killed yourself out of concern for the planet? You certainly aren't helping your cause by driving around in your beat-up car. If you're not willing to kill yourself, perhaps you could take the bus instead? Or ride a bicycle? Walk?

Either this person is a closed-minded liberal fundamentalist or just extremely ironic.

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Congestion

Someone has come up with an article about the 75 worst commutes in America.

I'm sorry, but reading that is a bigger waste of time than actually sitting in traffic.

Besides, America doesn't have the truly ridiculous seasonal traffic jams that Japan has. The record for the longest traffic jam in Japan is 154km.

Friday, January 15, 2010

Fragile

News of the Tata Nano coming to the U.S.

Pretty much the only impressive thing about the car is its low price. Or is it?

"If the $8,000 price tag holds true, it would cost far less than the $9,970 Hyundai Accent, currently the car with the lowest base sticker price in the U.S., according to the Edmunds.com automotive Web site."

This thing is supposed to sell in India for $2,500, where everyone will finally be able to afford a car to drive to work and increase emissions. The article mentions that the price must be raised to fit safety and environmental improvements to meet regulations in the U.S.

Now, hold on a second. Just how inadequately does a car have to be built for the price to rise more than threefold just by trying to meet regulations? People of India be warned: your skies will be covered in smog and you will die a horrific death when boiling acid comes raining down. That is, if you don't die first from being involved in a car crash in an unsafe car.

The flip side of this discussion is also true. The Hyundai Accident Accent is undeniably a shoddy car, but how can a Nano possibly be only $1,970 less? The Nano looks small enough that I can push it over on its side, and if I kick it, it will probably fall apart. A $2,500 car with $5,500 worth of safety and emissions equipment is, at the end of the day, still a $2,500 car.

"Airbags would have to be added, the roof strengthened and the front bumper lengthened to meet U.S. requirements to limit damage in a 5-mph crash."

Is that... A typo? A 5-mph crash would typically result in some paint chips or a slightly dented bumper, nothing more. Are they saying that without these reinforcements, the Nano would not be able to appropriately withstand a 5-mph crash?

"The Spartan interior, with flat bucket seats, three knobs, a horizontal switch and a steering wheel, also would have to be changed to comply with U.S. safety standards that limit movement of passengers not wearing seat belts."

If that is literally all that is inside the car, I'm baffled as to what the "horizontal switch" does. Is it relevant that it is horizontal? The three knobs are probably the shifter, indicator, and wipers. Since I assume it doesn't have air conditioning at this price point, I have no idea. Does it have a defroster, or do you have to drive with fogged windows on some nights?

And of course, as mentioned on Top Gear:


Your eBay item has been shipped (Right on the next day you paid).

Dear buyer,
Thanks so much for purchasing with us.
We have shipped the following item to you,right on the NEXT WORKING DAY you paid.
You should be receiving it in 7~15 WORKING days when shipping to UK,US,AU,and 7~21 WORKING days to EU,15~30 WORKING days to other countries as we state in the list.

--------
Well, you say that, but the fact is, that is a blatant lie. I paid for the item immediately after clicking "Buy It Now" and waited NINE DAYS before this e-mail arrived in my inbox. In fact, I bought another item from a different seller the day after this e-mail arrived, and I received the item today. As for the first item? Not here yet. Granted, it was a $2 case for my phone, but no positive reviews to be left here... I probably wouldn't have cared if it weren't for the e-mail with emphasis on "NEXT WORKING DAY."

The listing also said the case would be two pieces: one for the top half and another for the bottom. It isn't. It's just one piece for the bottom. For $2 it's not worth starting up a fuss.

The item that I ordered ten days after the case was a screen protector. I received it today and inside the packaging, there were two protectors. I thought, "oh, how nice of them" and proceeded to apply the protector.

I then found out why the package included two.

The screen protector is EXACTLY the same size as the area that can possibly be protected. This sounds like a good thing.

It isn't.

What this means in practice is that surgical precision is required in the placement of the screen protector. The edge of the screen on a Motorola Droid has plastic that is raised just slightly and if the protector edge sits on this, it doesn't adhere to the screen.

After much cajoling, the only things I got to adhere to were some dust particles on the sticky side of the screen protector. This caused bubbles to form, and the first protector was tossed.

Fortunately I was able to apply the second one almost properly, but this is by far the most difficult screen protector I have ever used.

Monday, January 11, 2010

The Australian

Well, at least some Austraians appear to have some sense.

Friday, January 8, 2010

Not the Proper Mood

There is a Wendy's by my work that plays classy music. And by "classy" I mean the kind of stuff you can expect to hear during Sunday brunch at a ritzy hotel. A quiet, sunny terrace with a light breeze and some birds chirping in the background. On the table, some thick Belgian waffles and fresh fruit with a hot tea. Or perhaps une limonade. You talk with your sweetheart about the day's activity plans.

But instead, you have loud middle-aged businessmen talking on their Bluetooth headsets. There is the beep coming from the timer on the computers telling the workers that the order has taken more than two minutes. There is a child nagging mommy for a Frosty, and the trio of Mexicans across the aisle are conversing loudly in Spanish. Even without all this noise, the music doesn't exactly put you in the mood for a "Baconator" does it?

Littering

So the Sea Shepherd has claimed that the boat that was damaged on Wednesday after their failed attempt to terrorize Japanese whalers has sunk, so they had to come back empty-handed.

Except, well, you see, it hasn't sunk. Unless it was salvaged by whales or something, because the Japanese whaling boat found it drifting and leaking fuel. Some "Conservation Society" eh?

The Japanese have also found 80cm crossbow arrows. Were they going to use these to hunt whales, or did they intend on firing them at people?

If they're going to lie about the condition of their boat, who's to say they aren't lying about anything else?

Go pick up the crap that you funded, Bob Barker. And while you're at it, have these idiots spayed or neutered, will you?

Thursday, January 7, 2010

Inaccuracies

Apparently the calorie count on nutrition labels is not entirely accurate.

Wait, do you mean to say that not all potatoes have EXACTLY 107 calories!? Not all chicken nuggets have... however many calories a standard chicken nugget is supposed to have!? That's UNBELIEVABLE.

The first paragraph of the article isn't exactly a good example; something comparable to expecting six cylinders from a six-cylinder engine is like expecting 12 cans in a 12-pack of beer.

The average weight of an adult male in the United States is 191lbs. That doesn't mean everyone weighs that much, and because food is inherently organic, the same can be said about the roast beef sandwich you had for lunch.

Dear Australia

Dear Australia,

I think it's great that you've stopped persecuting Aboriginies.
But before saying anything about Japanese whaling, would you awfully mind if you uh, stop killing kangaroos for sport? They're cute and cuddly and have little babies in their pouches, you know?

Thanks kindly,
The Management

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Pansy Terrorists

Sea Shepherd is a terrorist organization posing as a conservation group. They throw acid, ram ships, point lasers, and blast loud noises at Japanese whaling boats. In the past they have fired guns, set up explosives, and sunk ships, leading to condemnation from governments such as the United States, Canada, Iceland, Norway, and Russia.

On Wednesday a Sea Shepherd boat was damaged after colliding with a Japanese whaling boat. I am greatly disappointed that the tone of this Associated Press article condones terroristical activities.

"The group accused the Japanese ship of deliberately ramming the Ady Gil."

Umm, right, a small, quick powerboat rammed by a large whaling boat. That would be like chasing down a motorcycle in a bus.

Anyway, it's clear this is all just a publicity stint. One of the reasons they continue to attack Japanese ships is because the Japanese do very little in retaliation. I mean, could you imagine what would happen if someone were to attack a U.S. fishing boat? You would have the United States Navy on your tail in no time. That's what Somailan pirates face. Attacking a U.S. boat is practically the same as declaring war on the U.S. While the Japanese Maritime Self Defense force should act in defense of its countrymen, the reality is, they won't do much. Not to mention, it's unconstitutional for Japan to actually go to war.

Most people in Japan didn't have particularly strong feelings about whaling. Now, though, thanks to the Sea Shepherd's actions, the overwhelming sentiment in Japan is in support of whaling. Uh, so yeah, that hasn't worked.

In 2007, after throwing bottles of butyric acid at a Japanese whaling boat, a Sea Shepherd boat approached said whaling boat to try to stop it by getting some rope stuck on the propeller. The Sea Shepherd boat got too close and sunk. The Sea Shepherd then had the audacity to request rescue of its crew members to the Japanese boat that it had just been attacking. The Japanese obliged and the crew members were rescued. Three days later, the Sea Shepherd rammed another Japanese boat, rendering it inoperable. Erm, right. Ever hear of "pride" or "dignity" or "gratitude?"

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

Things They Want You To Buy

The article on "10 Things Not to Buy in 2010" is actually an article about things that you should buy, only in disguise.

Instead of buying DVDs, I should rent from Netflix or watch on demand. Fair enough, but DVDs aren't going away anytime soon, and if you buy a movie on DVD, at least you have something in your hand at the end that you can watch again. It's kind of like, do you buy or lease your next car?

Instead of a landline service, you should buy something called a magicJack. Which, from what I can gather in the article, is something useless. I have a cell phone; I don't need to plug my home phone into a USB port. Further, $39.95 a year for a "license" to call in the U.S. and Canada is plain silly, since Google Voice allows you to make calls for free in the U.S. and Canada, and for quite cheap to places elsewhere.

Instead of an external hard drive, you should pay an annual fee to upload your stuff on some backup services online.
An online service has two advantages: First, the data can be accessed from anywhere around the world. Second, if your house burns down, your data is still safe. However, data transfer will bottleneck at internet speeds, and there are privacy concerns. A flat annual fee would be the way to go if you have any significant amount of data. On the fence about this one.

Instead of any old smartphone, you should buy an iPhone or a Blackberry. This is a fair point, but I would say Google's Android is here to stay. Many of the apps aren't up to iPhone quality yet (the Facebook app, for instance, is crippled) but the latest Android phones far surpass the iPhone in certain areas.

Instead of a compact digital camera, you should buy a DSLR. Well, I would never buy a point-and-shoot because of many issues, but if you're the kind of person that won't take your camera around if it's large and cumbersome, then a small camera that takes crap pictures is better than a large camera that you leave at home.

Instead of newspaper subscriptions, you should buy an Amazon Kindle. However, I suspect the Kindle will be obsolete within a couple of years. It's a fad and I don't see it catching on.

Instead of buying CDs, you should download music from iTunes. So, should I not buy CDs because they're less convenient? Because they're more expensive? Because they're not cool anymore? I hate iTunes and my iPod is unstable, so recently I've gone back to loading a bunch of songs on a DVD and throwing them in the stereo in my car. I would sell my iPod but I still have music that I didn't put on the DVD and sadly, the only auxiliary connector I currently have is specific to the iPod. In fact iTunes is the very last place I go for music; it's the last resort when I can't find the CD, I can't find the song on Amazon's MP3 downloads, and I can't find a YouTube video from which to rip the (low quality) audio.

Instead of new college textbooks, you should buy used textbooks. Well, duh. There are two problems, however. First is when textbook publishers come out with a new edition every year. They change the numbers on the problems in the book or switch the shuffle the questions around and call it a new edition. This means there are no used copies available and students are forced to buy the new one. The second problem is course-specific books, i.e. "Introduction to Microeconomics for UCLA," etc. This means they can't be bought from places other than the campus boookstore, where they are overpriced. This, combined with the aforementioned tactic of publishing new editions every year, makes it impossible to buy used books.

Instead of gas-guzzling cars, you should buy a hybrid or a diesel. I'd buy a small car without hesitation if they brought some of the interesting stuff over from Europe. Alfa Romeo Giulietta or Fiat 500, please? If you're like the guy I saw on the freeway the other day with a Toyota Prius with huge rims and sports exhaust with lowered suspension and doing 95mph, then don't bother. Also don't bother if you're buying a Prius because you want everyone around you to know that you're anonymously doing a good thing. Which is dubious given the production process of hybrids.

Instead of energy-inefficient homes and appliances, you should buy... Energy efficient ones. Do people go, "I know! I'll buy the dishwasher that uses a lot of energy!" or are they just ignorant to these factors when purchasing?

Discontinued

Someone has come up with an article about the "10 Best Discontinued Cars" you can buy today.

Some issues. They mention how you shouldn't buy a Saturn because the brand is being axed. And then they go on to recommend two Pontiacs, which is another brand that is being axed. Uh, hello?

Second, five of the ten cars haven't ACTUALLY been discontinued, and it's not even known for sure whether they will be discontinued any time soon.

And then some issues with the individual models...

Lexus SC430
"The styling hasn't changed much since the 2002 debut, but this will remain a classy ride years into the future."
No it won't; it's rather catastrophically ugly and they only seem to be driven by middle-aged upper-middle class WASPs that are too tan and have more plastic than Lego.

Pontiac Solstice
"Critics ding the Solstice for a subpar interior, but you might be so delighted by the ride that you don't notice."
Even if you have the refined ride of a Rolls Royce or a Lexus, or the sporty handling of a Lotus Elise, if the interior is cheap then you will definitely notice. It's one thing to have a stripped, bare-minimum interior. It's another thing to have an interior with shiny, flimsy plastic with everything finished in gray.


Mercury Sable
I didn't think they still made this.

Sunday, January 3, 2010

Keywords

I hate keyword spammers. I will never, ever buy anything from one. Chances are, I wouldn't have anyway because they're invariably stupid people selling stupid things.

Or at least, things that are completely unrelated to the keywords they throw in their Craigslist ads.

Look, if I'm looking for a "fender" then I'm not interested in buying a Honda Del Sol. Likewise, if I'm looking for a Supra, I'm not going to be buying an Acura Legend with an automatic gearbox and a salvage title.